Borrowers are responsible for understanding these polices. Disregard for these policies may result in permanent suspension of borrowing privileges.
Borrower Responsibilities and Lending Policies
- Care of Library Materials
Material must be returned in the same condition as when it was checked out. Borrowers may not write in books, turn down page corners, or use “post-it”-type notes/flags or a fine may be issued.
- Responsibilities Regarding Addresses
You must keep the library updated with your current mailing address and email address. MSU borrowers must assure that email from msu.edu is not diverted to spam quarantine files.
- Checking Out Material
To check out material, an MSU ID or a library card along with photo ID must be presented. Borrowers are responsible for knowing the date material is due and returning (or renewing) it promptly. Material may not be checked out for others.
Library material must be renewed in order to extend the due date. Borrowers may renew eligible material online via “Your Library Account” at: http://www.lib.msu.edu. Some material is not eligible for renewal.
- Main Library Loan Periods
Some materials cannot be checked out at all. Reserve materials circulate for 2 hours, 24 hours, 3 days, or 7 days. Loan periods for most other types of library material: Faculty/Staff/Graduate Students – 180 days and Undergraduate Students, Spouses and Community Borrowers – 21 days.
- Get It @ MSU
If you need material that is checked out, or that MSU Libraries does not own, request the material from another library by visiting http://www.lib.msu.edu/about/ils/.
- Recalled Material
Recalled material must be returned by the new recall due date to avoid fines. To prevent recall fines while away from MSU, material should be returned before leaving or arrangements made for someone to return recalled items.
- Returning Material
Return DVDs, videos, CDs, records, ILLiad/MeLCat items and items from Reserve, Reference, Art, Maps, Music, and Software to the desk where they were checked out. Place other material in any book return at the Main Library or mail it to Michigan State University Libraries, Patron Services, 366 W. Circle Drive, East Lansing, MI 48824.
- Fines and Bills
Fines and bills are the responsibility of the borrower regardless of being away from campus, vacations, exams, illness, car trouble, unread MSU e-mail, late or never-received reminder notices, etc. Material returned after closing is not considered returned until the next day the library is open. Overdue fines are charged for the following high-demand items: Reserves, Collaborative Technology Lab material and Equipment: $1.00/Hour; Recalled material, software, CDs, records, videos and DVDs: $1/day; Material borrowed from other libraries: $2/day. When an item is significantly overdue, the borrower is billed, and holds are placed on MSU student enrollment, registration, diplomas, and transcripts. Minimum replacement charges are $100. When a billed item is returned, the replacement charge is cancelled but overdue fines may still be charged. Unresolved bills may be turned over to a collection agency any time after 30 days from date of issue. Payment may be made by mail (Michigan State University Libraries, Patron Services, 366 W. Circle Drive, East Lansing, MI 48824), at the Patron Services Desk, or by calling 1-517-355-2333.
- Library Cards for Michigan Residents
Michigan residents over the age of 18 may apply for community privileges by showing a valid Michigan driver’s license/ID containing the individual’s address. Cards will not be issued if the address is a Post Office Box. Two books can be checked out on the day the card is created. Additional books cannot be checked out until the library card is received in the mail. Community borrowers may have no more than 25 items checked out at one time and are not eligible to use one-day lockers. Community borrower cards expire after two years, at which time a community borrower must reapply for a library card.
- Accommodation for Persons with Disabilities
Accommodation related to checking out library material may be requested calling 1-517-884-6458 or by e-mailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Michigan Law and University Policies
Michigan Compiled Law (MCL750.391) defines damaging library material (or keeping it overdue) as larceny. The confidentiality of library records in the State of Michigan is protected by "The Library Privacy Act," Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL 397.601-606, Act 455 of 1982). Federal law may supersede Michigan Law. Removing material from the MSU Libraries without checking it out may result in criminal charges. MSU ID cards are property of MSU. If used by anyone other than the owner, an MSU ID will be confiscated.